Black People Looking for White Ancestors… White People Looking for Black Ancestors

Many years after slavery, people are still funny about what color we are and the history that goes with that. I’m a white woman whose family lived in the south during colonial times. My father grew up in New Orleans. When I told him I wanted to go “down South” to do some ancestry sleuthing, he discouraged it, telling me to look up my mother’s ancestors instead. After my father died, I went to Louisiana and Mississippi and to the places where my ancestors lived. I stumbled upon distant relatives still living in the same area where many years ago colonists thought it was okay to enslave others. These distant relatives were very nice and friendly, until I told them I wanted to find the branches on our family tree that connect black with white. They did not say anything mean, but they shut off communication. It’s too bad because I suspect they know but have no interest in telling me. Recent advances in DNA testing and people sharing information will tell us a lot. Until then, I’ll keep sleuthing and using my creativity to piece together a fractured southern heritage.

Suellen Ocean is the author of the Civil War Era Historic Romance, Black Pansy.

Available Here:

http://www.amazon.com/Black-Pansy-Suellen-Ocean-ebook/dp/B00CNWG6QU/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid=

 

eBook at Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/black-pansy-suellen-ocean/1115251569?ean=2940016438160

 

eBooks and computer downloads available through Smashwords:

http://smashwords.com/b/313643

BlackPansyKindleCover

Published by

Suellen Ocean

With a Bachelor of Arts degree from Sonoma State University, Suellen Ocean does her writing from the hills of Northern California. She began writing professionally for print and radio broadcasting in the late 1980's. Her first self-published book led to her becoming "officially" published, when in 1998 she was asked to participate in the anthology, "The Simple Life" through Berkley Books, New York. She is the author of sixteen books on diverse subjects.

3 thoughts on “Black People Looking for White Ancestors… White People Looking for Black Ancestors”

  1. Very Shameful That People Would Want To Not Know Their Own History Because Another Race May Be In It. How Can People Be So Proud To Know Of Rapists, Thieves, And Wife Beaters In Their History But Turn Their Noses Up At A Decent Ancestor Because Of Skin Color. How Ashamed Those Ancestors Must Be Of THEM

    Like

    1. We all have very colorful and diverse ancestry. Both black and white families share my family surname. I’ve been trying for years to make the connections on the family tree. It isn’t easy but eventually, I’ll figure it out and share it on ancestry.com and tribal pages and I’ll probably write a chapter about it in one of my books.

      It’s not just skin color. Many Americans have Jewish ancestry and plenty of Americans aren’t happy to find out. I think it’s sad. To think that two- hundred years from now, my descendants would be ashamed of me because of my skin color or my religious beliefs and disown me, well, that’s ridiculous. And close-minded. Thanks for weighing in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

