Cell Phones… the Tools of Our Free Society

Chimney FireOne of the ways I cope with “these troubling times,” is to tell myself that I am an observer of the future. Sometimes I ask myself, what if I was dead? All these changes would go on without me, so why not stay calm and watch them go their course? Change is inevitable, right? Well, I’m not dead and I’m quite young for my age so I don’t stay in observer mode for long. I’m still a big participant in society. Last night was rough though. It was a rainy El Nino Saturday afternoon in northern California so we spent the day lounging and watching movies. First we watched the new Mad Max movie due to its hype at the Oscars, and afterwards, for the same reason, we watched Straight Out of Compton. I was angry after we finished watching the latter. It fueled my anger over society’s mistreatment of our black citizens. The movie is an entertaining, honest story about black music entrepreneurs. It had all the elements; oppression, betrayal, injustice, death, sadness, success, love, family, friendship, hope… but it left me feeling angry. I went to bed at midnight and turned the radio on. I listened to BBC world news where the headlines were that ISIS was training little boys to be ruthless. I won’t repeat the gory details but after that, I’d had my share of media for the weekend. All this leads to the question, what can we do about “these troubling times?” We can start by acknowledging how important freedom is. And how it is aided by technology (cell phone cameras) that help us expose injustice and disgrace, whether it be police brutality, terrorism, corporate and government misbehavior or litter along our highways. These days, we have much to be grateful for, especially freedom.

New Hot Snow Cover

Suellen Ocean is the author of The Steinberg Conspiracy Series. Available here:

Book One, Chimney Fire: http://www.amazon.com/Chimney-Fire-Steinberg-Conspiracy-Book-ebook/dp/B00XDCPLEW

Book Two, Hot Snow: http://www.amazon.com/Hot-Snow-Steinberg-Conspiracy-Book-ebook/dp/B014XHUT1K

Published by

Suellen Ocean

With a Bachelor of Arts degree from Sonoma State University, Suellen Ocean does her writing from the hills of Northern California. She began writing professionally for print and radio broadcasting in the late 1980's. Her first self-published book led to her becoming "officially" published, when in 1998 she was asked to participate in the anthology, "The Simple Life" through Berkley Books, New York. She is the author of sixteen books on diverse subjects.

Leave a Reply

