Neo-Nazi Protest in Brussels… What Would Einstein Say?

Chimney FireThe neo-Nazi-type protest in Brussels has set my mind ablaze. There they were, in what looked like brand new, black, hooded sweatshirts. From what I saw, they looked clean and well-fed, obviously from privileged families or from their own prosperity.New Hot Snow Cover

I like to hear what others have to say and what they must be feeling; their fears. These self-proclaimed hooligans looked old enough to have children of their own and I imagine that they feared for them and did not put their faith in peaceniks and flowers hoovering about the scene of the Brussels attack. Obviously, they lacked faith in their government for failing to prevent the attack. Everyone is in a high state of alarm. And for good reason. Add to it, that the terrorists were seeking a dirty bomb and you have full scale panic. In the backdrop of my thinking, are the words of the political pundit, David Brooks. He spoke on PBS on Friday night, about living in Brussels and how different the Muslim neighborhoods are. (They sound like ghettos.) So I also think about how they must feel. Not knowing all the politics of the area, I wonder what society could have done to prevent the hatred that brews in the minds of young people who want to blow those of a different ethnic group to smithereens and make life miserable for the rest of their fellow Muslims who are left to endure the hatred that comes in the aftermath. We cannot though, let history repeat itself. The revival of Nazi-type thinking will not solve things, nor will flowers. But as Albert Einstein told his daughter, love is the strongest force there is.

 

 

Published by

Suellen Ocean

With a Bachelor of Arts degree from Sonoma State University, Suellen Ocean does her writing from the hills of Northern California. She began writing professionally for print and radio broadcasting in the late 1980's. Her first self-published book led to her becoming "officially" published, when in 1998 she was asked to participate in the anthology, "The Simple Life" through Berkley Books, New York. She is the author of sixteen books on diverse subjects.

4 thoughts on “Neo-Nazi Protest in Brussels… What Would Einstein Say?”

    1. It’s been months. I think it was BBC. My husband and I rented a motorcycle in London and drove tbrough Brussels. I loved it. I was so sorry to see the terrorist attack and the political unrest. Do you live there?

      Like

      1. A heavy one then because I was thinking through which tunnel you can have gone. Yes, I live there but not in the centre. My address you can still reach by vehicle. When something happens I hear or read about it only much later though I live near Maelbeek.

        Like

  1. I’ve read a lot about the area during its medieval days. It was such a European crossroads, it always took a serious beating. I love the big lion on the hill. I wasn’t expecting it as we drove by. Magnificent, on that barren hill. We were advised to go to Bruges. We drove through but didn’t stop. It looks like an expensive place to spend the day. It was at the end of our vacation and we had to get the motorcycle back to London. We were pretty well “spent up,” by that time. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

